Author: silentpcomics

I'm Rik. I draw comics, I write some too. I draw loads of stuff. Want me to draw you something?

Rock In Purgatory available to order!

Get over to my store and order your copy of Rock In Purgatory right now!

01-front-cover_20180420085917762409963846.jpg

A long last, the print edition of Rock In Purgatory can be yours. The comic is being finalised with the printers, ready for shipping in May. As well as the 48 page full colour print edition of the comic, you can buy bundles including exclusive art prints and awesome badges too.

I’m really excited to finally have this comic in print format and am looking forward to getting copies out to everyone who loves Rock In Purgatory as much as I do. I will soon be booking onto comic events for later in the year, so stay tuned for news on where you can meet me.

Buy the comic now – or read some free samples to try before you buy.

Advertisements

Pre-order Rock In Purgatory from 23 April

Rock In Purgatory is coming to print!

preorder blog

The 48 page full colour print edition will be available to pre-order from Monday 23 April. As well as the comic, there will also be badges and exclusive art prints for sale as well. A bundle with all items at a discounted rate will be available on a limited basis.

I’m really pleased to be able to get Rock In Purgatory in print and out to those of you who have been dying to get a copy of your own. You will be able to read all the strips from the Popcorn Horror run, as well as loads of never before published strips from the first series. There will also be a poster pull out section, articles about the bands that have inspired the comic, character designs, sketches and behind the scenes pages revealing my creation process.

Make sure you save the date and get your order in quick to avoid disappointment.

Wanna try before you buy? Read all published strips FOR FREE NOW!

Spring comics updates

Lots coming up from me in the next few months – here’s the low-down…

img_20180314_223135_20180314232950880317871571.jpg

Heads!
My new comic Heads! will be getting released in May. It’s a sci-fi private detective comic, for fans of Dick Tracy, The X-Files and They Live. Expect lots of grimy black and white noir art, classic mystery and devious oddities, all wrapped up with biting south London wit.

Rock In Purgatory WILL get a print run!
Despite the Kickstarter campaign coming in just shy of the target, I am hard at work on funding options for a print run. I will be offering a pre-order for the comic once I have booked in the supplier, with an early bird discount of excited fans and backers of the Kickstarter campaign. Read some samples for FREE now.

Unfortunate Tales
The new webcomic I am drawing for the madmen over at Attack From Planet B will ramp up throughout spring. The first few strips have been loads of fun to create. Parodying classic horror movies, the strip will entertain anyone who loves VHS horror and video nasties.

Events
I’ve been a hermit too long! Once the Rock In Purgatory print run is in my hands I’ll be getting myself booked onto some conventions. If anyone is running a small press event and would be interested in having me run a table, please give me a shout!

Unfortunate Tales – new horror webcomic

DVwnX4xW4AAm7cH.jpg large

Love VHS horror and unpleasant comics? Then you need Unfortunate Tales From Planet B in your life!

Written by awesome awkward writer Ken Wynne and illustrated by yours truly, Unfortunat Tales is a new horror webcomic published on the Attack From Planet B website. Riffing off of classic horror movies and sub-genres, this fortnightly strip will be providing your horror comics fix from now on.

Presented online, Unfortunate Tales utilises the traditional three panel newspaper strip format and slaps it in your webcomic loving face. Make sure you check out the first edition now.

Follow me on Twitter for updates and be sure to follow Ken Wynne and Attack From Planet B as well.

Rock In Purgatory Kickstarter – 1 February

The Rock In Purgatory Kickstarter launches on 1 February. Here’s a sneak peek at what you can get your hands on when it goes live.

01-FRONT-COVER.jpg

Love comics?

You can get the full colour 48 page print edition of the comic for just £5 when you back the book on Kickstarter in February. All print edition backers will also get a digital copy of the book and will have their names added to the acknowledgements in the back cover. There will also be a digital only version which will set you back just £1, if digital is more your thing.

rip-multi-plecturm-blogLove merch?

It’s a heavy metal comic, so there has to be some heavy metal merch on offer too. You can grab exclusive plectrums and badges which will make you the envy of your metal loving friends. If you are a live music fan you’ll love the souvenir gig tickets and VIP backstage passes that you can pick up. And for the ultimate heavy metal comic fan there are limited edition t-shirts available too.

 

Love art?

Exclusive art prints will be available in the mid-priced reward tier. These will feature Rock In Purgatory artwork plus some heavy metal themed pieces of Kiss and Slayer, two of my favouite bands. Original artwork from the comic can be bought. Individual panels drawn at A4 scale, and whole pages drawn at A3 scale can be chosen, all of which will be signed by me.

Something unique?

The highest tier is for individual commissions. You can grab the comic and other rewards as well as a personal commission of your own. The commission can be of anything you want, not just horror or heavy metal related. So, check your piggy bank and consider backing this tier for something truly unique.

rip-tshirt-blog

Check back here for updates and the link to the campaign when it launches, or follow me on Twitter and Instagram.

2018 goals

I’ve just been looking back at my new year goals for 2017. It’s interesting to see that I have achieved some quite different things over the past year than I expected.

2018-1My main plans had been to submit more things to publishers and to get the Rock In Purgatory book printed and released. Neither of these actually happened. However, the Rock In Purgatory book is launching on Kickstarter on 1 February. I’m pleased about the delay though. Originally, Rock In Purgatory would have been a 24 page comic, but now it will be a 48 pager, including loads of extra comics, art and articles, all presented as a parody music magazine. So, in the end, I am going to be releasing something I’m much happier about.

2018-2Though I didn’t do much in respect of publisher submissions, thanks to my awesome illustrator friend Heather Chapman, I have done so many more challenges and experiments than I have ever done before. One of these resulted in the Toad Of Toad Hall silent comic, something I would never have thought to do off of my own back. Heather’s support and enthusiasm, as well as her incredible illustration skills, have been the most prominent reasons I feel that my art has improved so much in 2017.

 

 

2018-3I also ended up organising the first ever Wimbledon Comic Art Festival. As an ex-live music promoter it was only a matter of time before I put on my own comics event. I was ecstatically pleased to have it become a huge success. Exhibitors and visitors have expressed a desire for me to run a follow up event in 2018. The venue, Merton Art Space, want me back, so it would be rude not to!

So, new stuff for this year. Aside from the Kickstarter to release the Rock In Purgatory book, I will be launching my new ongoing comic, Headz, in May. A sci-fi crime noir, Headz takes as many cues from Dick Tracy and Blacksad as it does They Live and Mars Attacks. Production on the art is well underway, and I have tens of pages written already, so I can’t wait to unleash it on you all.

I will be putting on an event or two in 2018, but also plan to involve myself in different events as well. On 20 January I will be speaking as part of a panel at S.M.A.S.H., organised by London Graphic Novel Network. I also have my eye on a few horror conventions to tabel at.

I’ve been saying for the past few years that I would like to release an illustrated calendar, so this year I’m going to actually plan in when to create that so it’s ready at the right time! And I will be returning to the pages of Popcorn Horror magazine with a new horror comic.

In between all this, I will be drawing everyday, hoping to secure commissions and making more noise at publishers to see if they would be up for having me on their roster. I’ll be posting on social media like a demon (as always) so stay tuned to my Twitter or check back here for updates on my work.

Happy New Year!