Under the influence: A Nightmare on Elm Street

Nancy says 'No'

This movie ruined my childhood. I can’t express enough how terrified I was of Freddy Krueger as a kid. Everything about him is horrific. Specifically during the first three movies Freddy looked so scary and was a character so evil that he and his creator, Wes Craven, revolutionised horror.

It’s incredible that I ended up not just being a horror fan but also a big Elm Street fan. As my interest in other horror movies grew, through the excellent Hammer Horror output and movies like An American Werewolf In London and Halloween, I knew I’d have to face my childhood fears and face Freddy eventually. And when I did it was quite an experience. NOES was certainly scary but the creativity in it was mind blowing. Though still unsure of how safe I was in his knife-gloved hands I found myself watching all the movies in the franchise. My love for these movies started to grew out of a pseudo Stockholm syndrome and before I knew it I was nearly as much a fan as Brutal Bombshells script writer Craig Jex.

 

The first movie is like no other, but I’ve always felt that the second one features the scariest imagining of Freddy. Look at him in that movies, he’s fucking horrific! Dream Warriors was yet another massive jump in style and imagination, and is the movie that made me a Nancy fan. She was a perfect foil for Freddy, not just fighting him but finding the heart of his weaknesses. The fact that she has the courage to enter his dream world and fight him on his own turf is amazing, making it all the more upsetting when, ultimately, Freddy kills her.

I have a lot of Elm Street inspired art and Nancy features in a few pieces. In fact, though Freddy’s horror-chic is obviously conveyed, Nancy is more prominent an influence in my concepts and is a character I often come back to in my work.

